Eerste college's op UBC / First lectures at UBC - Reisverslag uit Vancouver, Canada van Denise Koopmans - WaarBenJij.nu Eerste college's op UBC / First lectures at UBC - Reisverslag uit Vancouver, Canada van Denise Koopmans - WaarBenJij.nu

Eerste college's op UBC / First lectures at UBC

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Denise

07 September 2014 | Canada, Vancouver

Since one of my roommates mentioned that she would love to read my blog as well, I'm going to try to write it in my best English!

My first Lectures were on Wednesday the 3th of September. In the morning I had skyped with my boyfriend and after that I needed to rush to class. Luckily for me, my faculty is only a 10 minute walk away. My first lecture is about Gender and Sexuality. The lecture is done within 20 minutes or so, because she only goes through the syllabus. After that lecture a have more than 1,5 hour to the other one. So I think I'll start right and began reading in my book of the course of Gender and Sexuality. It is pretty interesting and it's about the history of the ideas about sexuality. No culture or land stays undiscussed. My second Lecture of that day is about Brain damage and recovery. Here the teacher also only goes through the syllabus. So my day was even shorter than it was supposed to be.
Since I have a concert of Passenger this Sunday, I planned to print the ticket in a library. Unfortunately I had some trouble with putting money on my account to print something and was the line really long for the IT information desk. After that I walked to the Student Recreation Centre for a membership for the gym. Unfortunately, again, was the line really long and I was hungry. So I went back to my room for lunch. In the afternoon I did some studying and got some groceries. Well some, a lot for my usual behaviour. I think I have enough food for two weeks. That evening I had very Dutch. I had a sausage with potatoes and broccoli. In the evening I and Nathalie tried to get into the Pit Pub Night. It was the first night so we expected it to be busy. But not that busy! We couldn't go into the pub immediately. First we needed to get a wristband upstairs at the entrance of another party. Upstairs we saw a line that was wrapped around the entire building! (I had something with lines that day....) We got in the line. At the side of the line you could see the party through the glass. We saw that everyone inside the party was waiting to go downstairs for the Pub Night. So even when you got in the party, there was no party! Me and my roommate waited in line for an hour and then gave up. It was nice talking to some new people though.
The next morning I had class again. But at first I skyped with home. It was nice to see them! Before my first class I went to go for my membership for the gym and just got that in time before my class started. My first class was about Forensic Psychology. This was also about the syllabus, but since the professor thought that the class would already have started that Tuesday, he also did some of the course. This lecture was about the history of Forensic Psychology. Mostly about some rules that were created a long time ago and that we take for granted. Like, you're innocent until proven otherwise. It was pretty interesting. After that lecture I went outside to get some lunch, again there were long lines everywhere. Walking across the bookstore I saw the Varsity Rowing team stand, Of course I went there to ask about the possibilities. The coach was talking about almost 9 trainings a week, but that I didn't had to do them al. Not all trainings where boat trainings. I was torn... I really would love to join the team (they have three eights, well, she tries to fill the third one). But I don't want my time to be all rowing and studying. I have mailed the coach later again about the possibilities, since I don't want to give up all my weekends and feel bad about not being able to do all the trainings. Have not heard from her jet, but I'll keep you informed!
I got some quick lunch after that and went to my next and last lecture of the day. This one was about Knowledge and Birth. I was planning about dropping it, since it's only about birth and no development or anything and since I needed to write 8(!) papers for it. After the lecture I was sure that I didn't wanted to take that course. So I dropped out of it when I got home. After lecture I managed to get my ticket printed and meet up with the girl who joins me to the concert of Passenger. Her name is Erika and she's from Italy. With some coffee we get to know each other. She's really nice. After the coffee I go to a free BBQ of a Christian club. They're are really nice people there and the food was great. After the BBQ I and Asuko tried to go to the Improv Show of the AMS first week. Unfortunately we were too late, but we had I nice walk over the campus. That night we go to a paint party. The paint is not that bad (read: not that much paint), but I really enjoy myself with Asuko, Julia and some of their friends. I noticed that the people there danced very in a group. Or they jumped together with their hands high or they were clapping on the rhythm with each other (not like the Dutch people who clap faster and faster and then end in a shout, but really on the rhythm, most of the time ended in the jumping). The party got disturbed by the fire alarm and we all had to go outside. Even the fire truck showed up. After about half an hour we could go back inside and party further.
The next morning I went to my lectures again, after skyping with my boyfriend. The first about the history of Sexuality. She told much about what I already read in the book. So I think I can manage that course. The lecture after this one was a bit harder. It was also about history, but then about the history of the knowledge about brain damage and recovery. I found this pretty hard, also because the man told very much in little time. So I'm curious how that will work out, especially since I've got no textbook for that course.
After my lectures I go home to study a bit and then go to the 'big' event of the week, de AMS bbq. What I didn't know before, was that I had to pay for my food. That doesn't sound that weird when you wouldn't know that you also needed to pay an entrance fee of about 12 -20 dollars. It is really not my week since I also couldn't find my friends and my wifi was killing me. It ended al luckily well when I found my friends and we chatted along,.. Well, more like screaming, because the live music was really, really loud. We weren't even sitting that close to the stage.
In the evening I stay at home and watch some series.
The next morning is Saturday. I'm planning to go with a friend and a roommate to go to downtown. Of course, since this is my week of bad luck, it took us almost 40 minutes to find the bus stop. The problem is that there is absolutely no information at almost every bus stop about when the busses come and were the busses stop.
Finally we get to downtown and we get out of the bus, nearby the Pacific Centre, A shopping mall, where I get my Canadian phone number. We lunch in the mall in a place where there are about 15 different kind of take away with in the middle of the shops tables and chairs to sit. After lunch we go shopping at the Robson street. Everyone succeeds. I got shoes. In the morning we had planned to join a group to go to the Suspension Bridge park. Unfortunately they were hang over. But that didn't mind because now we didn't had to rush to the park after downtown. We'll go some other day to the park.
When I got back home I made my dinner and did the laundry (made me think of Sheldon of the Big Bang Theory).
Tonight I don't go to bed that late, tomorrow I'm planning to go to the aquarium at the Stanley Park and of course to the concert of Passenger!!

  • 07 September 2014 - 11:17

    Arja:

    Oeps, wel even lastig al dat engels, maar dan kan ik alvast oefenen.
    Mooi dat de meeste college's goed te doen zijn. Ik snap dat je die ene niet gaat doen, omdat het eigenlijk geen nieuwe stof is en je moet ook nog eens zo veel papers schrijven.
    Jammer dat het overal zo druk is, maar zo leer je wel veel mensen kennen.
    Inderdaad lastig met roeien. Het gaat je dan wel heel veel tijd kosten.
    Leuk dat je al dingen van Vancouver gaat bekijken met je vrienden.
    Succes met alles uitpluizen. Het zal steeds makkelijker gaan en je zult steeds sneller je dingen kunnen regelen.

    We moeten dit verslag maar even vertalen voor Oma en Beppe.:)

  • 07 September 2014 - 14:55

    Klaas:

    Nice shoes! Have fun!

  • 07 September 2014 - 20:34

    Nelly Koopmans:

    Wat leuk je verslagen te lezen. Je hoeft je in ieder geval niet te vervelen. Heel veel succes! En geniet !!

  • 08 September 2014 - 07:57

    Klaas:

    Fantastic how you write the stories, we can see it through your eyes! Enjoy!

  • 08 September 2014 - 10:04

    Gerlof Koopmans:

    Hoi Denise,

    Leuk om je verslagen te lezen. Heel veel succes en natuurlijk ook genieten.

    Oant Sjen,

    Omke Gerlof

  • 10 September 2014 - 16:24

    Nathalie:

    Hoi Denise!

    Wat leuk om je avonturen te lezen! Geniet er van!

    Xx Nathalie

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Denise

Actief sinds 29 Aug. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 345
Totaal aantal bezoekers 7144

Voorgaande reizen:

29 Augustus 2014 - 21 December 2014

studeren in het buitenland

Landen bezocht: