Lynn Canyon and Quidditch - Reisverslag uit Vancouver, Canada van Denise Koopmans - WaarBenJij.nu Lynn Canyon and Quidditch - Reisverslag uit Vancouver, Canada van Denise Koopmans - WaarBenJij.nu

Lynn Canyon and Quidditch

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Denise

17 September 2014 | Canada, Vancouver

Quite some things to catch up, but I'll try to tell as much as possible!
Thursday the 11th I had another forensic Psychology class and in the evening a potluck from the cooking club. A potluck means that everyone brings something to eat. So I planned to make some wraps with cream cheese and salmon/chicken/ham. I also made yoghurt with cereal and fruit for desert, since my roommates wanted to join and otherwise we had to pay 10 dollars to enter. Unfortunately lots of people went for the 10 dollars, which made that there wasn't that much food... My dinner existed from cookies, chips and some pieces of bread. It was fun though and they have a lot of nice ideas. So I joined the club and immediately signed up. I also signed up for the Whistler weekend. A kind of ski-resort, but no skying for me. Food and hot-tubs is the idea. :P
The next day classes again but before that my last rowing practice. I told my coaches that I wouldn't go through with it. It took too much of my time and took whole weekend to recover from those early trainings. It was nice to be in the team for a while! In the evening I went to the Farmade. This is a kind of festival on a farm with biological burgers and so. Esther stood there with her work, Sproutz. She had lavender brownies, normal ones and chocolate chip cookies. Al vegan! But it was really good. With Asuko I got a cider and a burger. During eating a new band came on stage who did a lot of country dances. They explained how it worked and you danced in pairs. Asuko and I joined and we had a lot of fun! After that we went to the Spanish Beach to watch the Northern Lights since there was told that it was possible to see it that night. Unfortunately we haven't seen anything
The next day I slept for a long time and I worked on my thesis. Finally really finished! In the evening I skyped with Hidde
Sunday the 14th I went to Lynn Canyon with Asuko. It was a nice day and the park was beautiful. We went there by seabus. What was an attraction on its own. You could see the beautiful skyline of Vancouver. In the park we walked across the suspension bridge. It wiggled a lot and was really high. So I didn't dare to cross it completely. Luckily for me we didn't had to for our path. When we came to the 30 foot pool it became very busy. A lot of people were swimming, sun bathing and jumping of cliffs. There were a lot of students but also families with children. When we wanted to cross the river I fel in it and got my shoes wet. But it walked even better with my bare feet over the stones! (For the rest of the walk I've putted them back on of course)
After a short stop before we got in the seabus (for the view of the skyline) and a stop in Downtown we got home at around 6:30pm.
Next morning it was Monday again, so classes. After my classes I went to the gym, which was very busy. But I could do some cardio so that was fine.
In the evening I chatted with my roommates. Joanne had brought an entire chicken to chare. And Asuko has almost eaten half of it! She really loves meat ;)
Tuesday I planned to go to the gym before class, but had a surprise skype conversation with my family at home, which was really nice. It was nice to finally talk to my sister since she started at the University and rowing!
After my class I went for groceries and studies. In the evening there was a quidditch practice! I was so curious!
It was a lot of fun and there were about 40 people! We got split up in groups and did some separate exercise first. After that the real work began. Quidditch matches. I became a beater. It was kind of like dodgeball (in nl: trefbal). It was really fun and kinda rough. I really liked it, but I'm not joining the club. It was fun for one time. They have actual competitions by the way! They play it all around the world. They even have a match this weekend. I was so surprised when I discovered that.
After the quidditch practice I got my dinner and after this blog I'm going to study a bit.
Tomorrow new classes and I got an invitation from Erika for an Italian dinner with some people. Looking forward to that!
This weekend I might go to a theme park, also excited about that!

  • 17 September 2014 - 17:23

    Klaas:

    Wow, what a story! I'm reading it right now together with 'Beppe' grandma!

  • 17 September 2014 - 19:36

    Arja:

    Wat heb je weer veel gedaan en gezien. Goed dat je nog tijd weet te vinden om dit allemaal op te schrijven.
    En onverwachts skypen is erg leuk.:)

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Denise

Actief sinds 29 Aug. 2014
Verslag gelezen: 249
Totaal aantal bezoekers 7143

Voorgaande reizen:

29 Augustus 2014 - 21 December 2014

studeren in het buitenland

Landen bezocht: